2 IISc professors among 6 Infosys Foundation prize winners

Views: 140

Bengaluru, Nov 13 (IANS) Indian Institute of Science (IISc) professors Navakanta Bhat and S.K. Satheesh are among the six winners of the software major’s Infosys Prize 2018 in the Engineering & Computer Science and Physical Sciences categories, said its Science Foundation on Tuesday.

“Bhat is awarded the prize for work on the design of novel bio-sensors and Satheesh for a pioneering work in climate change,” said the city-based Foundation in a release.

Bhat is also Chairman of the Centre for Nano Science and Engineering in the renowned institute. His work is based on research in biochemistry and gaseous sensors that push the performance limits of metal-oxide sensors.

“His (Satheesh) studies on black carbon aerosols, the dark, light absorbing, microscopic particles in air, which influence the energy balance of the atmosphere over the Indian subcontinent have enabled a better understanding of their role on climate change, precipitation and human health in the subcontinent,” said the statement.

The annual prize celebrates the success of the recipients in science and research by recognising their achievements in the six categories of Engineering and Computer Sciences, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences.

The prize carries a gold medal, a citation and a tax-free purse for Rs 73 lakh.

The other four winners are: Jawaharlal Nehru University’s School of Arts & Aesthetics Professor Kavita Singh in Humanities, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research’s (TIFR) Biological Sciences Associate Professor Roop Malik in Life Sciences, University of Strasbourg’s Institute for Advanced Study Professor Nalini Anantharaman in Mathematical Sciences and University of Chicago Professor Sendhil Mullainathan in Social Sciences.

The winners were selected by a six-member jury of renowned scientists and professors — Kaushik Basu, Pradeep Khosla, Shrinivas Kulkarni, Amartya Sen, Mriganka Sur and Srinivasa Varadhan.

“Our laureates have achieved milestones in their domains and 2018’s winners will raise the bar for science and research over the next decade,” said the Foundation.

By recognizing outstanding researchers and celebrating their achievements, the Foundation aims to inspire young minds to explore science as a career option and advance innovation in the country.

“Motivating researchers at the right stage in their careers is critical for their success as they represent the future of India in their respective fields,” said the statement.

Set up in 2009 as a not-for-profit organisation by Infosys co-founders N.R. Narayana Murthy, Nanda Nilekani, S. Gopalakrishnan, S.D. Shibulal and Dinesh, the Foundation promotes interest in science and research in the country.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *