28 athletes picked from GAIL Indian Speedstar trials

Views: 39

New Delhi, April 5 (IANS) A total of 28 young athletes were picked from the state trials of the GAIL Indian Speedstar for north and central India at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here on Tuesday.

A total of 317 kids selected at the district trials from different districts of New Delhi (70), Jammu (6), Uttarakhand (15), Madhya Pradesh (46) and Uttar Pradesh (180) participated in the event along with nine shortlisted wild card entrants who were selected a day prior to the state trials.

The event was part of the initiative taken by National Yuva Cooperative Society (NYCS) as part of nationwide campaign to find out athletes for 2020/2024 Olympics.

Among the 28 qualifiers from the trials were eight girls and 20 boys.

ALSO READ:   Finch, Maxwell to miss their respective IPL openers

In under-14 category Nihal S. (New Delhi), Nisar Ahmed (New Delhi) and Milan Bhosle (Indore) qualified in 100 metres category. In 200m category Anshul (New Delhi), Nikhil Som (Meerut), Md. Kohinoor Ali (New Delhi), Nihal (New Delhi), Dishan Yadav (Guna) and Shubham Sharma (Allahabad) qualifies in under-14 boys category.

In U-14 girls category, Cynthia Francis and Payal from New Delhi qualified for both 100m and 200m category.

Meanwhile, in 100 metres under-17 boys category, Nuzrat (New Delhi), Badal Shokeen (New Delhi), Rishab Riskeshwar (New Delhi), Shivang Mishra (Allahabad), Shubam (Meerut) and Harsh Ahlawat (Meerut) qualified and in girls in the same category Donalda Francis, Shabnam and Radhima Gulati qualified from New Delhi.

In 200 metres under-17 category, only one girl Mona from New Delhi qualified. In boys category, Aakash (Meerut), Akshay Nain (New Delhi), Shivang Mishra (Allahabad), Badal Shokeen (New Delhi), Rishab Riskeshwar (New Delhi) and Shadad Chaudhary (Meerut) qualified.

ALSO READ:   Rain interrupts India's chase in ICC U19 World Cup final

In 800 metres under-17 girls category, Ankita Chahal (New Delhi) and Sadana Nishad (Gorakhpur) qualified and in boys Nitin (New Delhi), Saddam Khan (Gorakhpur), Anshul (Meerut) and Akshay Nain (New Delhi) qualified.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *