34 percent votes cast till 1 p.m. in third phase of Bihar polls

Patna, Oct. 28 (ANI): An estimated 34 percent votes were cast till 1 p.m. in the third phase of Bihar Assembly elections.

Polling is underway in 50 constituencies, spread over six districts, amidst tight security arrangements.

Re-polling is also being held at booth no.131 of Banka Assembly constituency and at booth no.188 of Chakai constituency. Polling on these booths was held on October 12 during the first phase of polling.

Governor Ramnath Kovind, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav and former chief minister Rabri Devi exercised their right of franchise.

Non-functioning EVMs have been reported from a few places in Nalanda, Bhojpur, Buxar and Siwan districts.

Polling, which began at 7 a.m., will conclude at 5 p.m. in 40 constituencies, while it will end at 4 p.m. in the remaining 10 Naxal-affected seats.

A total of 1.45 crore electors are eligible to decide the fate of over 800 candidates, 71 of whom are women.

Of the total 14,170 polling stations, 6,747 have been declared as critical and 1,909 as Left Wing Extremist hit polling stations. (ANI)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply