37 Indian scientists in LIGO team to share Breakthrough Prize

ligo wave

A team of 37 Indian scientists are among others working with the Laser Interferometer Gravitational wave Observatory (LIGO) experiment, named for the Special Breakthrough Prize in fundamental physics.

The LIGO experiment had discovered the gravitational waves in September 2015. Since 2012, the Breakthrough Prizes have been given for breakthrough achievements in mathematics, physics and the life sciences. Along with each prize also comes a reward of $3 million, which will be shared by all scientists.

A ceremony will be held in the fall of 2016 in which the laureates will all be recognised, Breakthrough Prize organizers said in San Francisco.

According to the International Centre for Theoretical Sciences (ICTS), Bengaluru, 37 researchers from around India belong to the second subset. Seven, including including Bala Iyer, a notable veteran of gravitational physics research, are from the ICTS itself. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated the Indian scientists for being named for the honour.

The LIGO Scientific Collaboration (LSC), which involves thousands of scientists and engineers, maintains and operates the LIGO. Two subsets of the LSC will receive the prize of $3 million out of which $1 million will be distributed among the three conceivers of LIGO – Kip Thorne, Ray Weiss and Ron Drever. The another $2 million will be distributed among 1,012 scientists who helped discover the gravitational waves.

LIGO laborataries are located in Livingston, Lousiana, and Hanford, Washington State. The third project will be coming up in India and India and the US have signed a Memorandum of Understanding for establishing an observatory. – CINEWS

Related Posts

Leave a Reply