83.73 percent turnout in Bengal polling Monday: EC

Views: 40

Kolkata, April 12 (IANS) Altogether 83.73 percent voters exercised their franchise on Monday in 31 constituencies for the second part of first phase of the West Bengal assembly poll, officials said.

Maximum polling (90.62 percent) was recorded at Narayangarh constituency of West Midnapore district, from where Communist Party of India-Marxist state secretary Surjya Kanta Mishra was in the race.

Three other constituencies – Pingla and Garbeta in West Midnapore and Bankura district’s Kotulpur – saw a voters turn-out of over 90 percent.

The lowest voter turnout (71.69 percent) was at Kharagpur Sadar in West Midnapore district from where state Bharatiya Janata Party chief Dilip Ghosh and 91-year-old, 10-time Congress legislator Gyan Singh Sohanpal were in fray.

In nine seats, mostly in Burdwan district, turnout was recorded at less than 80 percent.

ALSO READ:   Congress to start toll-free helpline for women in Goa
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *