AAP announces more candidates in Goa

Views: 41

Panaji, Oct 6 (IANS) The AAP on Thursday announced seven more candidates for assembly elections in Goa, including one in Mandrem to take on Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar.

The Aam Aadmi Party also fielded Goa cabinet minister Alina Saldanha’s nephew in her Cortalim constituency.

The list of seven candidates was declared in the presence of AAP National Secretary Pankaj Gupta.

The candidates include Devendra K. Prabhu Parsekar Desai, a 53-year-old teacher who will take on Parsekar, and 30-year-old teacher Olencio Dhananjay John Simoes, Saldanha’s nephew (Cortalim constituency).

The other candidates include Royla Fernandes, 37, an architect (Benaulim), and Suresh Tilve, 32, a lawyer (Madkai).

Sitaram Gawas, 48, will contest from Poriem, a constituency represented by former Goa Chief Minister Pratapsing Rane for more than two decades.

ALSO READ:   Five men arrested for robbery in Delhi

Prithvi Amonkar, 43, and Giovanni Vaz, a businessman, have been fielded from Siolim and Mormugao constituencies respectively.

Last month, the AAP declared its first list of four candidates. Goa has a 40-member house.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *