Academy takes major steps after #OscarSoWhite criticism

Views: 54

Washington, D.C., Jan. 23 (ANI): With 2016 marking the second year of #OscarSoWhite criticisms, the Academy Awards have bowed down to the pressure over its lack of African American nominations.

Forced to make some major changes, the Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs, with consent of the board, released a statement on January 22, saying that they passed a sweeping vote to ensure historic measures are taken, reports E! Online.

Isaacs said the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 51-member Board of Governors unanimously approved a series of reforms to “begin the process of significantly changing our membership composition.”

Lifetime voting rights were reframed and limited to only those who have been active in the film industry over the last 10 years.

ALSO READ:   Priyanka Gandhi miffed after being pushed at India Gate

Three new governor seats were also added, which will be elected by the president, and committees were restructured to support that.

All of these measures have been taken by The Board of Governors with a goal of doubling the number of women and diverse members of the Academy by 2020.

Filmmaker Ava DuVernay, whose ‘Selma’ was nominated for ‘best picture’ last year but not for lead actor David Oyelowo, quickly responded via Twitter saying, “Just received from @TheAcademy. One good step in a long, complicated journey for people of color + women artists.”

Commenting on the Academy’s move, Cameron Bailey, artist director of the Toronto International Film Festival, tweeted, “Impressive, bold action by the Academy’s Cheryl Boone Isaacs, Dawn Hudson & Phil Robinson .. Studios, you’re next.”

ALSO READ:   Temperatures dip after thunderstorm in Punjab, Haryana

The changes came after Hollywood lashed out in an enraged response to the lack of diversity within the 2016 Oscar nominations with stars like Spike Lee, Jada Pinkett Smith and Will Smith deciding to miss the event all together. (ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *