Aizawl win I-League to create history

Views: 73

Shillong, April 30 (IANS) Aizawl FC earned a well-deserved 1-1 draw against Shillong Lajong FC to create history by becoming the first club from the north-east to win the I-League title.

Lajong had taken the early lead when centre-forward Asier Pierrick Dipanda slammed home a header in the ninth minute.

That complicated things for the visitors as they needed at least a draw to win the title.

But Aizawl recovered from the setback to dominate the game thereafter.

Despite some stout defending by the hosts, William Lalnunfela finally made sure that Aizawl won the title when he found the equaliser in the 67th minute.



ALSO READ:   IPL gave me huge confidence: Jos Buttler
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *