Antony, Kenyem administered oath as RS members

New Delhi, Apr. 4 (ANI): Rajya Sabha Chairman Mohammed Hamid Ansari on Monday administered oath to Veteran Congress leader and former defence minister A.K. Antony, who was re-elected to the Rajya Sabha from Kerala, and Naga Peoples’ Front leader K.G. Kenyem, who was elected unopposed from Nagaland, in his chamber in Parliament House.

Other leaders, who have been re-elected or elected to the Rajya Sabha recently are deputy leader of Congress in Rajya Sabha Anand Sharma from Himachal Pradesh, CPI (M)’s Jharna Das (Baidya) from Tripura, JDU’s M.P. Veerendra Kumar and CPI (M)’s Somaprasad K. from Kerala and Ranee Narah and Ripun Bora of Congress from Assam.

The eight seats had fallen vacant due to the expiry of terms of the seven sitting members while in Nagaland death of NPG Khekiho Zhimomi on November 26 last year warranted the election. (ANI)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply