Aruanchal CM inducts two deputy CMs, four ministers

Views: 27

Itanagar, March 5 (IANS) Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Kalikho Pul on Saturday formed his new council of ministers by inducting seven members of the People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) including two deputy chief ministers.

Governor Jyoti Prakash Rajkhowa administered the oath to the seven ministers at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan.

Deputy Speaker Tenzing Norbu Thongdok has been elevated to the rank of a cabinet minister, while veteran political leaders Chowna Mein and Kameng Dolo were inducted as deputy chief ministers.

The others ministers inducted were Sarvasshri Kumar Waii, Lombo Tayeng, Wanglin Lowangdong, Kamlung Mossang.

“The chief minister will take a decision soon to induct four more ministers in his cabinet,” PPA spokesperson Pasang Dorjee Sona told IANS over phone.

Pul was sworn-in as the eighth chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh on February 19 after the central government recommended that President’s Rule be lifted from the state.

ALSO READ:   Gujarat halves prices of industrial plots up to 3,000

On February 25, Pul won a vote of confidence in the 60-member assembly, whose strength now stands at 58 following the expulsion of two Congress legislators.

The BJP which has 11 members and two other Independent members also supported Pul. Ousted chief minister Nabam Tuki and his 16 loyalist Congress members did not attend the assembly session.

On Thursday, Pul and the 29 dissident Congress members merged with the regional PPA.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *