Assam polls: Congress list out, Gogoi to contest from Titabar

Views: 95

New Delhi, March 15 (IANS) Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi will contest from the Congress bastion of Titabar, according to the list of the first 65 candidates released by the party high command here on Tuesday.

The party is fielding former union minister Pawan Ghatowar from Moran, while sitting member Rajib Lochan Pegu will take on BJP’s chief ministerial candidate Sarbananda Sonowal from Majuli, a reserved seat for tribals.

In the list released on Tuesday, the party is fielding Bithika Dev, wife of party veteran Santosh Mohan Dev, from Silchar.

The first and second phase of the Assam assembly elections will be held on April 4 and 11, respectively. Assam has a total of 126 assembly constituencies.

Sitting legislator from Margherita Pradyut Bordoloi will contest from the same place while Arun Phukan is being fielded from Bokakhat constituency.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *