Badree’s hat-trick in maiden over rocks Bengaluru

Views: 62

Bengaluru, April 14 (IANS) The first hat-trick in the 2017 Indian Premier League (IPL-10) by West Indian leg-spinner Samuel Badree of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against Mumbai Indians (MI) in a maiden over rocked the M. Chinnaswamy stadium here on Friday, as frenzied fans erupted in joy and danced to the beat of drums.

Even as about 40,000 fans were wondering if RCB could defend their modest total of 142/5 against the two-time IPL champions, Badree’s sensational bowling feat in the second over of his first IPL match set the stands on fire, as Mumbai was reduced to 7/4 in three balls.

Though the Trinidad-born 36-year-old leggie opened the attack from the Northern End, bowling the first over and conceding six runs, including two wides, he came back to demolish Mumbai’s top order in his second on trot.

ALSO READ:   Chelsea appoint Maurizio Sarri as new head coach

Before Badree’s hat-trick, RCB’s medium pacer Stuart Binny set the stage by getting non-striking opener Jos Buttler caught by Chris Gayle at mid-wicket on the last ball of his first over for 2.

Mumbai opener Parthiv Patel was Badree’s first scalp when he gave Gayle a simple catch in the second ball of the over at short extra cover. In the next ball, he got Mitchell McClenaghan caught by Mandeep Singh at the boundary when he tried to hit him for a six. In the fourth ball, Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma got clean bowled for a duck.

Badree went to trouble the Mumbaikars’ with his magic spell as Nitish Rana became his fourth victim in the innings’ eighth over for 11 runs. His bowling figures were four overs, one maiden, nine runs and 4 wickets.

ALSO READ:   Injury puts South Korea captain out of clash vs Germany

Badree became the 12th bowler in the decade-old IPL tournament to have scored a hat-trick and joined the likes of his West Indian spinner Sunil Narine of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in 2013 and Shane Warne of Rajasthan Royals (RR) in 2014.

Indian spinner Amit Mishra of Delhi Daredevils (DD) is the highest hat-trick taker in IPL having achieved the feat in 2008, 2011 and 2013, followed by all-rounder Yuvraj Singh twice in 2009 when he was with Kings XI Punjab and the series was played in South Africa.

Laksmipathi Balaji of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) was the first in the inaugural event in 2008 along with Mishra and Makhaya Ntini of KKR.

Besides Yuvraj, Rohit Sharma was the other all-rounder to take hat-trick in 2009 when playing for then Deccan Chargers of Hyderabad.

ALSO READ:   Bottas sets pace in French GP 3rd free practice despite rain

There were three hat-tricks in 2008 and 2009, two in 2013 by Mishra and Narine and one each in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2016 and none in 2015.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *