Canindia News

Bhagyabati Kachari, Ankushita Boro storm into QF of NBC

Kannur, Dec 5 (IANS) India Open gold medallist Bhagyabati Kachari and former world youth champion Ankushita Boro stormed into the quarter-finals with commanding performances at the fourth Elite Womens National Boxing Championships held at the Mundayad Indoor Stadium here on Thursday.

Assam pugilist Kachari, representing RSPB, was on song and hardly broke a sweat in ending the challenge of Madhya Pradesh’s 2018 bronze medallist, Jigyasa Rajput 5-0 in 81kg. Kachari’s statemate Ankushita Boro (64kg) too had it easy in her pre quarter-final bout against Himachal Pradesh’s Earika Shekhar, whom she trounced 5-0.

Haryana’s Nupur, also last year’s silver medallist, was sharp right from the beginning of her 75kg bout against Himachal Pradesh’s Sandhya. The latter had absolutely no answer to Nupur’s flurry of punches and conceded a 0-5 defeat. Nupur is making a comeback to the ring for the first time since the Asian Championships. Also breezing into the quarters was All India Police’s Lalfakmawii Ralte, who pummelled Kerala’s Seethal Shaji 5-0 in 81kg.

Mizoram was put on the winners’ column by Abisak Vanlalmawii after she emerged victorious by Referee Stop Contest (RSC) in Round 1 against Tamil Nadu’s R. Priyadarshini in 64kg.

Madhya Pradesh’s upcoming talent Nisha Yadav (64kg) was one of the biggest casualties on Day 4 of the tournament. Uttar Pradesh’s Aradhana Patel was declared the winner of that contest by dint of RSC in Round 2. Ladakh, which had participation for the first time, too had a setback as Farina Llyas went down to Kerala’s Ansumol Benny, who emerged the victor by RSC in Round 1.

Delhi had a good day in the ring with both Anjali (69kg) and Shalakha Singh Sansanwal (75kg) progressing into the last eight. While the former dominated Punjab’s Gagandeep Kaur 5-0, the latter dashed the hopes of Maharashtra’s Manisha Oza by a similar scoreline. From Andhra Pradesh, Gompa Geya Rupini (81kg) made it to the last eight via an RSC in Round 1 victory. Telangana too had a winner in Saara Qureshi, who got a walkover from Haryana’s Nirmal in 81kg.

The knockout stages will be starting from December 6, with the final matches to be played on December 8.




Taapsee on Filmfare Awards storm: Glad my name wasn’t dragged into it

CanIndia New Wire Service

Rs 2 lakh compensation to kin of dead in Bengal storm

CanIndia New Wire Service

Storm over AIMIM Waris Pathan’s ‘communal speech’

CanIndia New Wire Service

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More