BJP releases Assam list, Sonowal to fight from Majuli

Views: 38

New Delhi, March 9 (IANS) The BJP on Wednesday announced the list of 88 candidates for the upcoming Assam assembly election.

The party fielded Jorhat MP Kamakhya Tasha against Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi from Tatabar assembly constituency, while chief ministerial canddate and union minister Sarbananda Sonowal will contest from Majuli assembly constituency.

Former minister Himanta Biswa Sarma will contest from Jalukbari.

The Bharatiya Janata Party in Assam is fighting this election in alliance with Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People’s Front.

The AGP is contesting on 24 seats whereas BDF will put candidates on 14 seats of the 126-member house.

ALSO READ:   14 candidates for 10 Rajya Sabha seats in UP
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *