BJP releases candidates’ list for TN, Kerala polls

Views: 30

New Delhi, April 19 (IANS) The BJP on Tuesday released fourth list of candidates for Tamil Nadu assembly elections – to be held on May 16 – apart from one candidate for Kerala.

In Tamil Nadu, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced candidates for 26 assembly seats – Ponneri (SC), Madavaram, Thiruvotriyur, Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar, Kolathur, Cheyyur (SC), Ranipet, Uthangarai (SC), Arani, Tindivanam (SC), Vikravandi, Paramathi-Velur, Kumarapalayam, Gobichettipalayam, Coonoor, Avanashi (SC), Valparai (SC), Palani, Kulithalai, Chidambaram, Sirkazhi (SC), Thirumayam, Tiruppattur, Usilampatti, Andipatti and Alangulam.

Besides, on the Thiruvallur seat, the BJP would be supporting its local alliance partner Indiya Makkal Kalvi Munnetra Kazhagam (IMKMK) candidate. The latter would contest on 24 seats.

The other alliance partner — India Jananayaka Katchi (IJK) — has got 45 seats.

ALSO READ:   'When the Chief Fell in Love', to release tomorrow

With the fourth list, the BJP has so far announced its candidates for over 160 seats out of a Tamil Nadu assembly’s 234 seats.

In Kerala, which has a 141-member house including one nominated, the BJP declared only one candidate in the present list for Irukkur assembly constituency.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *