Canindia News

BJP retains both seats in Himachal bypolls

Shimla, Oct 24 (IANS) The ruling BJP retained both the seats — Dharamshala and Pachhad — in Himachal Pradesh where bypolls were held on October 21, election officials said on Thursday.

BJP candidate Vishal Nehriya won Dharamshala by a margin of 6,673 votes. He defeated his nearest rival Rakesh Kumar, an independent candidate. Congress candidate Vijay Inder Karan came third.

In Pachhad, Reena Kashyap defeated her nearest rival Gangu Ram Musafir of the Congress with a margin of 2,742 votes.

Rebel BJP candidate Dayal Pyari, who contested as an independent, finished third with 11,651 votes.

Nearly 68 per cent of the 1,56,624 voters had exercised their franchise on Monday for the by-elections.

The elections were necessitated as Kishan Kapoor and Suresh Kashyap resigned from their respective seats after they were elected to the Lok Sabha.

Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur thanked the people of Pachhad and Dharamshala for electing the BJP candidates.

He said people have expressed faith and confidence in the policies and programmes of the present BJP government which is committed to the welfare of the people and development of the state.

The BJP has 44 seats in the 68-member state Assembly.



Related posts

People of Assam need not worry over CAB, says Modi

CanIndia New Wire Service

Yogi sets up panel for revival of economy after lockdown

BJP slams Pawar for dubbing death threat to PM a ploy to garner sympathy

Leave a Comment