BJP wins both RS seats in Jharkhand

Views: 40

Ranchi, June 11 (IANS) The ruling BJP clinched both Rajya Sabha seats in Jharkhand on Saturday as cross-voting helped the party to defeat the united opposition.

In the 81-member assembly, 79 legislators cast their votes. BJP candidate and Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi secured 29 votes while second candidate Mahesh Podaar secured 24. JMM candidate Basant Soren managed to secure 26 votes.

The minimum number of votes required to win was 28.

BJP candidate Poddar won the election on the basis of second preference votes.

Two legislators — Chamra Linda of the JMM and Devendra Singh of Congress — did not turn up for voting.

Saturday’s cross-voting came at a time when the CBI is probing allegations of horse trading in previous elections to Rajya Sabha seats from the state.

ALSO READ:   GRP engages 'tantrik' to solve theft case in Bihar

JVM-P President Babulal Marandi said: “The BJP is murdering democracy. Money power played a key role in the Rajya Sabha poll.”



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *