Boxer Mandeep Jangra receives Arjuna Award

New Delhi, Sept.16 (ANI): Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Sarbananda Sonowal has presented the Arjuna Award 2015 to boxer Mandeep Jangra.

The Arjuna Award is given every year for excellence in national sports. It is awarded for displaying outstanding performance for four years preceding the year of award.

The 22-year-old received a statuette, a certificate and an award money of Rs. five lakh.

Jangra failed to receive the Arjuna Award from President Pranab Mukherjee on August 29, as he was taking part in an international boxing tournament abroad.

The list of sportspersons, who were honoured with the Arjuna Awards this year is as follows:

Naib Subedar Sandeep Kumar (archery), M.R. Poovamma (athletics), Kidambi Srikanth Nammalwar (badminton), Mandeep Jangra (boxing), Rohit Sharma (cricket), Dipa Karmakar (gymnastic), Sreejesh P.R. (hockey), Manjeet Chhillar (kabaddi), Abhilasha Shashikant Mhatre (kabaddi), Sawarn Singh (rowing), Anup Kumar Yama (roller skating), Jitu Rai (shooting), S. Sathish Kumar (weightlifting), Bajrang (wrestling), Babita Kumari (wrestling), Yumnam Sanathoi Devi (wushu) and Sharath M. Gayakwad (para-swimming).(ANI)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply