BSP’s Gaya Charan Dinkar is new Leader of Opposition in UP assembly

Lucknow, June 25 (IANS) Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) legislators on Saturday unanimously elected Gaya Charan Dinkar as the new Leader of Opposition in the Uttar Pradesh assembly.

The post was vacated by Swamy Prasad Maurya’s exit from the party.

A Scheduled Caste leader from Banda, Dinkar was elected by BSP’s MLAs in the presence of party supremo Mayawati.

Dinkar, who represents Naraini constituency, has hitherto been the deputy leader of the BSP legislature party in the assembly.

He was first elected to the assembly in 1991.

The new Leader of the Opposition enjoys the confidence of Mayawati but is known for his anti-women remarks and casteist comments.

The BSP has 79 legislators in the 404-member Uttar Pradesh assembly.



Related Posts

Leave a Reply