Bypoll schedule for three UP assembly seats announced

Views: 70

Lucknow, Jan 12 (IANS) Bypolls to three Uttar Pradesh assembly seats would be held on February 13, the Election Commission announced on Tuesday.

By-elections to the three seats – Bikapur in Faizabad, Deoband in Saharanpur and Muzaffarnagar – were necessitated by the deaths of sitting members Mitrasen Yadav, Rajendra Singh Rana, and Chitranjan Swaroop, respectively. All were of the ruling Samajwadi Party,

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Arun Singhal said the nomination process would begin on January 27, scrutiny would be conducted on January 28 and the last date for withdrawal would be on January 30. Counting of votes would be done on February 16.

EC officials also said that with the announcement of the polling schedule, the model code of conduct had come in place in these three places.

ALSO READ:   India happy with Maldives opposition floating joint presidential candidate
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *