Bypoll to two UP assembly seats on May 16

Views: 38

Lucknow, April 20 (IANS) Bypolls to the Bilari and Jangipura assembly constituencies in Uttar Pradesh would be held on May 16, the Election Commission announced on Tuesday.

Both the seats were held by the ruling Samajwadi Party.

Additional chief electoral officer Ramakant Pandey said the notification would be issued on April 22.

Jangipur seat in Ghazipur district had fallen vacant following death of sitting member, Panchayati Raj Minister Kailash Yadav, while Bilari seat in Moradabad fell vacant due to the demise of sitting member Mohd Irfan in a car accident.

ALSO READ:   RBI's monetary policy confirms economic activity upswing: Finance Minister
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *