Cambodia issues coins to mark Asean Community’s founding

Phnom Penh, Dec 18 (IANS) The National Bank of Cambodia (NBC) has issued commemorative silver coins to mark the establishment of Asean – Association of Southeast Asian Nations – Community, an official statement said on Friday.

The ten Asean members inked the 2015 Kuala Lumpur Declaration on the Establishment of the Asean Community which will see the community formed on December 31.

“The NBC, together with the Royal Government of Cambodia, would like to express our congratulations to the Asean member states for successfully moving another step forward in the process of regional integration,” the statement said, adding “This significant achievement will be beneficial to all Asean nations,” Xinhua news agency reported.

The 31.1-gram silver coins display Cambodia’s famed Angkor Wat Temple on the obverse and the Asean flag along with the flags of the member states on the reverse.

The NBC will sell these commemorative coins at 223,000 riels (about $55) per coin, the statement said, adding that the coins may be purchased at the bank’s headquarters from December 25 onwards.

Founded in 1967, Asean comprises Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply