Centre approves new tourist, trekking routes in J&K

Views: 149

New Delhi, Dec 18 (IANS) The Union Home Ministry on Tuesday approved new tourist and trekking routes in Ladakh in Jammu and Kashmir, a government statement said.

The new tourists routes are Merak-Lema Bend, Chushul-Kartsangla-Mahe, Durbuk-Shahikul-Tharuk-Sato Kargyam-Parma-Erath-Chusul and Loma-Hanley, Korzok-Nurbo-Sumdo-Parangla-Kazaand, and Agyam-Shayok-Durbuk.

The proposed new trekking routes are Phyang-Dokla-HunderDok-Hunder, Basgo-Ney-HunderDok-Hunder, Temisgam-Largyap-Panchathang-Skuru and Saspol-Saspochey-Rakurala-Skuru.

“Buoyed by the success of many tourism initiatives under Prime Minister’s Development Package-2015, the Government of Jammu and Kashmir has taken yet another leap by proposing to open up more tourists/trekking routes in Ladakh with the aim of recapturing the glory, rich culture and beauty of the region,” said the statement.

With the objective of giving fillip to the tourism sector and enhancing the economic activity in the “Land of High Passes” (Ladakh), the Home Ministry has approved the proposal of Jammu and Kashmir government to open up more tourists and trekking routes in the region.

“To ensure smooth movement of the tourists within the Leh district, the validity of permit system for tourists visiting Ladakh region has been increased to 15 days from previous limit of seven days. To ensure safety and security, the tourists/ trekkers shall not be allowed to night-stay on all trekking routes.

“For effective management of the new routes, Jammu and Kashmir government has been advised to constitute a Coordinate Committee at the district level chaired by Deputy Commissioner, Leh, with the representatives of Army, state police, ITBP and other security agencies. The Committee will meet once in three months to ensure smooth management of the existing as well as new routes,” said the statement.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *