Chennai trio shine on day 1 of JK Tyre racing nationals

Views: 81

Coimbatore, July 7 (IANS) The Chennai trio of Karthik Tharani, Vishnu Prasad and Joseph Mathew ruled the opening day of the 21st JK Tyre national racing championship, winning in their respective categories at the Kari Motor Speedway here on Saturday.

Besides the Chennai trio, all eyes were on the all-women’s team of Ahura Racing in their striking red cars and uniforms debuting in the prestigious JKNRC. Five of the six members of the team eventually competed in the LGB 4 category, and looked impressive.

Racing for the first time ever, Coimbatore’s Megaa KS beat the rest of the girls, impressing with an overall timing of 18:09.051 seconds.

Pune’s Dr Ritika Oberoi, a seasoned motorsports competitor, chased her all the way, taking one extra second.

ALSO READ:   Fans on Twitter beat drum around Chhetri

Meanwhile, Karthik claimed the coveted first race in the Euro JK 18 category, winning the 15-lap race in 18:03.844 seconds.

Nirmal Uma Shankar (Chennai) and Manav Sharma (Faridabad) took the other two places on the podium.

Seasoned racer Vishnu (MSport) staved off a stiff challenge from Sandeep Kumar (Dark Don) and Raghul Rangasamy (also of MSport) to win the highly competitive opening race in the LGB Formula 4.

In the Suzuki Gixxer Cup, defending champion Joseph Matthew was at his imperious best once again, taking the first race of the season in 14:15.877 seconds.

He was over three seconds faster than Aizawl’s Malsawmdawngliana and Bengaluru’s Syed Muzamil Ali, who was a further three seconds behind.

The Red Bull Road to Rookies was once again dominated by the boys from the North East, with Zothanmawia and Andy Lalhmangaihsang taking the first two places. Jerome Vanlalrengpuia from Mizoram finished third.

ALSO READ:   2nd Test: Australia opt to bat first

Race 2 of the Euro JK 18 could not take place on Saturday as scheduled due to a technical glitch. It will now take place on Sunday, when Round 1 concludes.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *