Chidambaram, Piyush Goyal elected to Rajya Sabha from Maharashtra

Views: 21

Mumbai, June 3 (IANS) Union Power Minister Piyush Goyal of the BJP and senior Congress leader and former finance minister P. Chidambaram were on Friday elected unopposed to the upper house (Rajya Sabha) from Maharashtra.

Others who were elected unopposed were former union minister Praful Patel (Nationalist Congress Party), BJP’s Vinay Sahasrabuddhe and Vikas Mahatme, and Sanjay Raut of the Shiv Sena.

According to a senior official, since none of the six candidates for as many Rajya Sabha seats pulled out, all were elected to the Upper House.

The deadline for withdrawal of nominations ended on Friday afternoon. Chidambaram did not contest the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

Meanwhile, 10 candidates, including former Maharashtra Chief Minister Narayan Rane, who had filed nomination papers for 10 seats of the Legislative Council, were also elected unopposed. Two others withdrew from the fray.

ALSO READ:   Kejriwal apology: Two top AAP leaders in Punjab resign

Those who pulled out on Friday were BJP’s Prasad Lad and Manoj Kotak.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *