Community Trademark is now European Union Trademark

Views: 38

The European Parliament and Council in Dusseldort, Germany, have reformed and modernized the almost 20-year-old Community trademark law with the passing of Regulation (EU) 2015/2424, which came into force on March 23, 2016. The most obvious change is the name of the European trademark: The former Community Trademark (also known as the EU Trademark in Germany) is now called the European Union Trademark.

The relevant role and the basic idea of the European trademark remains the same. The European Union Trademark also offers equal protection in all countries of the European Union, the same as the Community Trademark did. Application and registration are still performed by the Office of Harmonization for the Internal Market, the new name of which is the European Union Intellectual Property Office, or EUIPO.

ALSO READ:   SBI posts Rs 2,416-cr loss, provisions for bad loans shoots up
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *