Congress forms election committee in West Bengal, Assam

Views: 36

New Delhi, March 7 (IANS) Congress on Monday formed state election committees in Assam and West Bengal in view of the upcoming assembly polls in the two states. It also formed campaign committee, manifesto committee and publicity committee in West Bengal.

A Congress release said that the Assam Pradesh Election Committee will have 17 members including state party chief Anjan Dutta and Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi. Chiefs of party’s frontal organizations including the youth Congress and Mahila Congress will also be members.

The West Bengal Pradesh Congress Election Committee has names of some sitting MPs including Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Pradip Bhattarcharya, Abhijit Mukherjee, Mausam Noor and A. H. Khan Choudhury.

The party’s 90 member campaign committee for polls in the state will be headed by Bhattacharya, the manifesto committee by Somen Mitra while the publicity committee by Choudhury.

ALSO READ:   How expressions changed at BJP headquarters with Karnataka swings

Assam and West Bengal will go to the polls in April-May along with Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

The polling West Bengal will take place in six phases between April 4 and May 5. In Assam, the polling will take place in two phases – April 4 and April 11.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *