Congress releases first list of 43 candidates for Bengal polls

Views: 30

New Delhi, March 15 (IANS) The Congress on Tuesday released its first list of 43 candidates for the coming assembly polls in West Bengal amid efforts to work out an alliance with the Left Front.

Among the candidates cleared by the Congress central election committee, former state party chief and sitting legislator Manas Bhunia would contest from his pocket borough of Sabong in West Midnapore district.

State legislative party leader Mohammad Sohrab would be in the fray from Jangipur in Murshidabad district.

The party has selected Mohit Sengupta for the prestigious Raiganj seat in North Dinajpur district, while sitting MLA and bureaucrat-turned-politician Sukhbilas Barma would try his luck from hs old constituency of Jalpaiguri.

Bengal will see balloting on seven dates — April 4, 11, 17, 21, 25 and 30 and May 5.

ALSO READ:   Delhi kid wins University of Bath best student award

Even as there were some problems in the tie-up between the Congress and the Left Front, state Congress president Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury has claimed there was no dispute with the Leftists.

Chowdhury on March 13 claimed an understanding with the Left Front in all but seven constituencies for polls to the 294-seat assembly.

He said three seats of Murshidabad (Domkol, Hariharpara and Bharatpur), two in Malda district (Harishchandrapur and Malatipur), one each in South Dinajpur (Tapan) and Kolkata (Belaighata) will see friendly fights between the Congress and the Left Front.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *