Congress releases list of 43 candidates for Bengal polls

Views: 40

New Delhi, March 15 (IANS) The Congress on Tuesday released a list of 43 candidates for the coming assembly polls in West Bengal amid efforts to work out a working alliance with the Left Front.

Among the candidates cleared by the Congress central election committee, sitting legislator Shaoni Singha Roy will be fielded from Murshidabad, a known party stronghold.

West Bengal will see balloting on seven dates: April 4, 11, 17, 21, 25 and 30 and May 5.

The party has selected Mohit Sengupta for the prestigious Raiganj seat in north Bengal while Indrani Mishra will contest from Asansol Uttar in south Bengal.

The Congress is also fielding Mohammad Sohrab from Jangipur and a local prominent leader Sukhbilas Barma will try his luck from Jalpaiguri (reserve) seat.

ALSO READ:   Harsh Vardhan unveils non-plastic bound Nat Geo

Even as there were some problems in the tie-up between the Congress and the Left Front, state Congress president Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury has claimed there was no dispute with the leftists.

Chowdhury on March 13 claimed an understanding with the Left Front in all but seven constituencies for polls to the 294-seat assembly.

He said three seats of Murshidabad (Domkol, Hariharpara and Bharatpur), two in Malda district (Harishchandrapur and Malatipur), one each in South Dinajpur (Tapan) and Kolkata (Belaighata) will see friendly fights between the Congress and the Left Front.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *