CPI-M politburo, central committee meetings postponed

Views: 31

Agartala, May 20 (IANS) The CPI-M has postponed the meeting of its politburo and central committee scheduled for next week to review the results of assembly polls, a party leader said on Friday.

“The politburo and central committee meetings, to be held on May 22-24 in New Delhi, have been postponed,” Communist Party of India-Marxist leader Bijan Dhar told IANS.

“Though fresh dates are yet to be finalised, these are likely to be held next month,” Dhar said.

The 16-member politburo and the 93-member central committee will thoroughly study the party’s performance in the five states, specially the disaster in West Bengal.

Though the CPI-M leadership in Tripura is upbeat over the party’s good showing in Kerala, it is upset over the Left Front’s poorest performance in West Bengal.

ALSO READ:   Will inspire Meghalaya regional parties to form non-Congress government: BJP

“The central committee never decided to go for a seat adjustment with the Congress in Bengal. It is the state leaders who did the seat adjustments to defeat the Trinamool Congress,” Dhar added.

He said the overall election outcome, specially in West Bengal, was not up to the expectations of the CPI-M, but ruled out any major impact of the election results on Tripura.

Meanwhile, Trinamool Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders claimed they would dislodge the Left government in Tripura in 2018. The Left has ruled Tripura from 1993.

The Trinamool Congress on Friday organised a rally here to celebrate its sweeping victory in West Bengal.

“We would definitely come to the power in Tripura in 2018,” Trinamool’s Tripura unit chairman Ratan Chakraborty said.

ALSO READ:   'Modi resorting to jumla-type statements over farm income, mismanaged J&K dispute'

Added BJP’s Tripura unit president Biplab Deb: “Our victory in Assam is historic. Our all-out preparation against the Left in Tripura has got a major fillip.”



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *