CSJC to award Dipa Karmakar for her contribution to gymnastics

Views: 36

Kolkata, April 26 (IANS) Dipa Karmakar, who became the first Indian woman to qualify for gymnastics in the Olympics, will be awarded by the Calcutta Sports Journalists’ Club (CSJC) as part of its diamond jubilee celebrations for her contribution to the sport.

Her coach Bisheswar Nandi will also be awarded at the event scheduled to be held on Wednesday.

Ace paddler Mouma Das, who made it to her second Olympics, too will receive an award for her achievements alongside table tennis star Soumyajit Ghosh who too has qualified for Rio.

East Bengal’s star striker Ranti Martins, who won the golden boot for the highest scorer in the recent I-League, will be feted for his contribution to football in India.

ALSO READ:   IPL a good arena to test a player's temperament (Column: Just Sport)

Badminton star Saina Nehwal was chosen Best Indian Sportsperson by the CSJC’s members for her stellar run in 2015 during which she also became the World No.1 singles player.

Tennis legend Jaidip Mukerjea, hockey Olympic gold medallist Bir Bahadur Chhetri and reputed powerlifter and weightlifter Sumita Laha will be the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement awards.

The award winners are:

Lifetime Achievement: Jaidip Mukerjea (tennis), Bir Bahadur Chhetri (hockey) and Sumita Laha (weightlifting and powerlifting).

Outstanding contribution to gymnastics: Bishweshwar Nandi

Unparalled contribution in gymnastics: Dipa Karmakar

Outstanding contribution to Indian football: Ranti Martins

Best Sportsperson of the Country: Saina Nehwal (badminton)

Best Junior Sportsperson of the Country: Mitrabha Guha (chess)

State awards (Best Player):

Athletics (male): Sashi Bhusan Singh

ALSO READ:   IPL play-offs: Chennai to field vs Hyderabad

Athletics (female): Lily Das

Basketball: Sagar Joshi

Badminton: Uthsava Palit

Chess: Diptayan Ghosh

Cricket: Sudip Chatterjee

Football: Debjit Majumdar

Football: Sony Norde (foreigner)

Kabaddi: Rajesh Mondal

Shooting: Kuheli Gangulee

Swimming: Sayani Ghosh

Table Tennis (women): Mouma Das

Table Tennis (men): Soumyajit Ghosh

Volleyball: Kamalika Debnath



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *