David Jenkins wins 3rd edition of Tata Prima T1 truck race

Views: 19

By: Ankit Berry

New Delhi, Mar.21 (ANI): David Jenkins from Britain, racing for team Tata Technologies Motorsports, on Sunday won the third edition of the Tata Prima T1 truck race held at the Buddh International Circuit.

The previous two seasons had seen Stuart Oliver win who was not participating this year. The event had two parts, one for Indian truck drivers called, Super Class category and the second part for British truck drivers, called ‘Pro Class’, who are a part of the British Truck Racing Championship.

The Indian truck drivers have been chosen from a pool of drivers shortlisted by Tata and had received training in Chennai since January. The 12 drivers who qualified for the final race were divided into two groups of six each.

ALSO READ:   New Paddock complex at MMRT inaugurated

The first race for the Super Class category for Indian drivers was won by Jagat Singh from Haryana. Jagat works for Mercurio Pallia logistics Pvt. Ltd. and lists his hobby as driving. The second race involving the remaining six Indian drivers was won by Nagarjuna A from Andhra Pradesh who works for Shekar Logistics Pvt. Ltd.

The Pro Class race involving British drivers saw 12 participants and was also divided into two parts, an eight lap race and a 20 lap race. The eight lap event was won by Mat Summerfield racing for, defending champions, Team Castrol.

Mat started the second race on pole but spun out due to a crash and eventually came eight.

“The trucks were better this year. I never had the outright pace this weekend but was consistent and easy and kind to the truck through the weekend, combined with a bit of good luck that just panned out to be a dominating victory for us,” said eventual champion, David Jenkins speaking to ANI.

ALSO READ:   Chhetri wishes U-19 cricketers luck ahead of World Cup final

David won with a lead of over 19 seconds over second placed man, Rick Collett, also racing for Cummins. (ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *