`Debutant` Nicholls replaces Taylor in Test squad against Aussies

Views: 21

Wellington, Feb.5 (ANI): New Zealand left-hand batsman Henry Nicholls is all set to make his Test debut after batsman Ross Taylor ruled out of team for the upcoming series against Australia due to a side strain.

Reflecting on Nicholls’ inclusion, Kiwi’s coach Mike Hesson said that Henry had displayed an impressive form ,adding that they were confident that he would contribute a lot to the team.

“Henry has been very impressive the way he has made the step up to international cricket and we’re confident of the job he can do for us in the top order. We’ve gone for just the one spinner in Mitch Santner and that’s based around what we expect the pitches to play like at Hagley and the Basin,” Hesson was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo.

ALSO READ:   Naomi upsets World No.1 Halep to reach Indian wells final

Meanwhile, Tim Southee, who was out action due to a foot injury sustained during a series against Sri Lanka in December, is also set to make a Test comeback with the upcoming series against Australia.

Matt Henry and Corey Anderson have also got a nod in the 13-man Test squad.

“Tim’s a leader within our group and our most experienced bowler, so we’re excited to have him fit and a part of our pace bowling attack. Matt Henry also comes back into the squad after some really strong performances throughout the summer and with Corey’s Anderson return we now have a number of seam-bowling options to consider,” Hesson said.

New Zealand have also brought in limited over’s specialist Luke Ronchi as a cover for wicketkeeper BJ Watling, who is battling a sore back.

ALSO READ:   Chelsea revives EPL hopes before playing Barcelona

New Zealand are currently leading the Chappell- Haddlee series 1-0 following their 159-run win in the opening ODI against Australia. The two sides will play two-match Test series, starting from February 12 at Basin Reserve in Wellington.

New Zealand Test squad:

Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Doug Bracewell, Trent Boult, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk)*, Kane Williamson.(ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *