Double whammy for ‘Wolf Hall’ at BAFTA Awards 2016

Views: 46

London, May 9 (IANS) In another strong year for British television, historical drama “Wolf Hall” was declared the best drama series and actor Mark Rylance received the leading actor honour at the BAFTA Television Awards here.

The ceremony, which was hosted by Graham Norton at the Royal Festival Hall here on Sunday, also saw Shane Meadows’ “This Is England ’90” and “Peter Kay’s Car Share” win awards, reports

“This Is England ’90”, the latest instalment in Shane Meadows’ Sheffield-set drama, nabbed awards for best miniseries, beating out “Doctor Foster,” Working Title’s “London Spy” and Sky’s “The Enfield Haunting” as well as best supporting actress for Chanel Cresswell. It was nominated for three awards going into the event.

British comedian Peter Kay snapped up the award for best male comedy performance for “Peter Kay’s Car Share” as well as the BAFTA for scripted comedy.

ALSO READ:   Ricky Gervais to create, star in 'After Life'

Suranne Jones won in the leading actress category for her portrayal of a wife betrayed by her husband’s infidelity in “Doctor Foster” while Tom Courtenay’s performance in “Unforgotten” earned him the award for supporting actor, his third BAFTA in total.

Amazon Studios’ dramedy “Transparent”, which sees a transgender parent coming out to her family, snapped up the award for best international program, beating out “The Good Wife,” “Narcos” and “Spiral”.

Comedy writers Ray Galton and Alan Simpson were honoured with a BAFTA fellowship.

“Poldark,” based on the Winston Graham tomes and adapted by Debbie Horsfield, snapped up the Radio Times Audience Award, the only award of the ceremony voted by members of the public.

The Special Award in Honour of Alan Clarke was presented to comedian Lenny Henry in recognition of his outstanding contribution to television during a career that has so far spanned 40 years.

ALSO READ:   I was a minority, a lone ranger: Aamir Khan

The star-studded event saw the likes of Idris Elba, Justin Timberlake, Anna Kendrick, Tom Hiddleston, Josh Hartnett and Hugh Bonneville grace the red carpet on a markedly sunny evening here.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Leading actor

Mark Rylance – “Wolf Hall”

Leading actress

Suranne Jones – “Doctor Foster”

Drama series

“Wolf Hall” (BBC2)

Entertainment program

“Strictly Come Dancing”

Female Performance in a Comedy Program

Michaela Coel – “Chewing Gum”



Male performance in a comedy program

Peter Kay – “Peter Kay’s Car Share”

Single drama

“Don’t Take My Baby”

Radio Times audience award (voted for by members of the public)


Supporting actor

Tom Courtenay – “Unforgotten”

Reality and constructed factual

“First Dates”

Supporting actress

Chanel Cresswell – “This is England ’90”

ALSO READ:   100-ball cricket done to fit TV schedules: Swann

Comedy and comedy entertainment program

“Have I Got News for You”

Specialist factual

“Britain’s Forgotten Slave Owners”

Soap and continuing drama



“The Great British Bake Off”

Scripted comedy

“Peter Kay’s Car Share”

Entertainment performance

Leigh Francis – “Celebrity Juice”



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *