DUSU: ABVP bags three top posts, NSUI one

Views: 50

New Delhi, Sep 10 (IANS) The BJP-affiliated ABVP on Saturday won three top posts of the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU), leaving one to the Congress-backed NSUI. The ABVP had swept all four seats both in 2014 and 2015.

Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad’s Amit Tanwar, Priyanka Chhawri and Ankit Sangwan were elected the DUSU President, Vice President and Secretary respectively. Mohit Garid of the National Students Union of India won the Joint Secretary’s post.

Tanwar defeated NSUI’s Nikhil Yadav by 4,290 votes, receiving 16,127 votes. Priyanka worsted the NSUI’s Arjun Chaprana by 2,455 votes. Sangwan defeated the NSUI’s Vinita Dhaka by 1,683 votes.

Garid defeated the ABVP’s Vishal Yadav by 2,466 votes.

Hundreds of ABVP supporters celebrated the victory in the Delhi University campus, one of the oldest in the country.

ALSO READ:   Congress, BJP in Rajasthan attack each other over fast politics

“It is a great feeling to have been selected as the President of the University,” Tanwar told the media. “We have various plans such as opening of more hostels and other infrastructure problems will be dealt with.”

Priyanka said she would work to set up more hostels exclusively for girl students.

NSUI members protested outside the election office saying there was no transparency during the vote count.

“We had asked for machine wise and college wise data of the polls. But they haven’t provided it saying they don’t maintain it,” NSUI National Secretary Deepak Negi told IANS.

“We always had doubts. We knew there would be no transparency. We will now demand recounting,” he added.

The ABVP had swept all four posts in 2014 and 2015, defeating the NSUI and – last year — the Aam Aadmi Party student wing CYSS too.

ALSO READ:   Gujjar protest put off to May 23 in Rajasthan

The Left-leaning All India Students Association (AISA) failed to make any impact this year. The CYSS did not contest the election held on Friday.

There were a total of 1,23,421 voters in Delhi University.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *