EC removes three polling officers in Bengal

Views: 56

Kolkata, April 25 (IANS) The Election Commission on Monday removed three polling officers in North 24 Parganas district during the fourth phase of the West Bengal assembly elections.

Two presiding officers — one from Baranagar and the other from Minakha constituency — were replaced for “not being impartial”, state chief electoral officer Sunil Kumar Gupta said.

One polling officer from Baranagar constituency was removed for “wrong declaration”.

“Two presiding officers were replaced in this phase of election for not being impartial. Of the two officers, one is from Baranagara and other from Minakha constituency.

“One polling officer from Baranagar constituency was replaced for not giving correct and proper declaration. The polling officer was found to be an electorate from the same constituency. Departmental action has been initiated against them,” Gupta said.

ALSO READ:   Wanted gangster Rajesh Bharti among 4 killed in Delhi shoot-out

Under expenditure monitoring measures, the EC seized cash amounting to Rs.54.36 lakh and 7.18 lakh litres of liquor, Gupta said.

The commission lodged 110 expenditure-related cases during the poll day. A total of 84 people were arrested in this connection only, and 1,928 for violating excise norms, Gupta said.

Four people were arrested and a case has been registered in Nimta police station for attacking CPI-M candidate from North Dum Dum, Tanmoy Bhattacharya, said Additional Director General of Police (Law and Order) Anuj Sharma.

Eight people were arrested for heckling CPI-M candidate from Barrackpur Debasish Bhaumik in Titagarh, Sharma said.

Another person carrying arms and bullets was arrested at Bauria of Howrah district during patrolling by central police forces and state police personnel.

ALSO READ:   Sitharaman assures support to Navy's efforts to plug critical capability gaps



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *