FIFA to award Ballon d’Or award on January 11 next year

Madrid, Sep 16 (IANS) FIFA will conduct its annual Ballon d’Or ceremony for 2015 on January 11, next year, in the Swiss city of Zurich where it is also headquartered, world football’s governing body announced on Wednesday.

At the same gala, FIFA will award the prize of world’s best player, the best coaches of men’s and women’s football, while the Puskas Award will be granted for the scorer of the best goal of the year, which will be decided by fans’ voting on the FIFA website, reports Efe.

Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo was the last winner of FIFA Ballon d’Or, awarded to the best player of the year, ahead of Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and German goalkeeper Manuel Neuer of Bayern Munich.

FIFA announced in a statement that an organisation, team or individual that has inspired others with a special gesture of sportsmanship in football will take home the FIFA Fair Play award, on January 11.

The stand-out players of the year will be selected in the FIFA World XI, and the FIFA Presidential Award will be given for outstanding service to the game, the statement added.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply