Golfer Jeev to compete in Maybank Championship

Views: 33

Kuala Lumpur, Feb 3 (IANS) Indian golf veteran Jeev Milkha Singh, Darren Clarke, Matthew Fitzpatrick and Victor Dubuisson have confirmed their participation in the Maybank Championship Malaysia which gets underway in a fortnight, it was announced on Wednesday.

During the trophy unveiling ceremony, Maybank chairman Tan Sri Dato’ Megat Zaharuddin Megat Mohd Nor said that the four seasoned golfers join a previously announced stellar cast which includes Martin Kaymer, Louis Oosthuizen, Danny Willett, Thongchai Jaidee and Kiradech Aphibarnrat.

“The presence of these four renowned players adds to the attraction of the player field at the Maybank Championship Malaysia,” said Tan Sri Dato’ Megat in an Asian Tour release.

“I am pleased that so far, seven of the top 50 world-ranked players will be at the tournament.”

ALSO READ:   ICC launches probe into Ajman All Stars tourney

Maybank unveiled the trophy which was conceptualised by Maybank and created by Royal Selangor. The trophy is a modern sculptural art form of the “Tiger”, an eminent symbol of Maybank. Weighing nearly five kilos and measuring 550mm (H) x 340mm (W) in height, the trophy is crafted out of pewter on a wooden base.

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *