Govt. initiates 14 point agenda on museum reforms

New Delhi, Dec. 27 (ANI): The Ministry of Culture in an effort to bring qualitative changes in museums in the country to keep pace with the International developments in the field, has initiated 14 point agenda on Museum Reforms in 2009.

There are various National level museums, namely National Museum (New Delhi), 3 wings of National Gallery of Modern Art (Delhi, Bengaluru, Mumbai), Indian Museum (Kolkata), Victoria Memorial Hall (Kolkata), Salarjung Museum (Hyderabad), 23 Science Centre under National Council of Science Museum (Kolkata) and Allahabad Museum (Allahabad), which are directly under the administrative control of the Ministry of Culture.

Besides, there are forty four site museums under the control of Archaeological Survey of India (ASI). These museums have a large collection of artefacts, paintings, sculptures, coins etc.

“Up-gradation and modernization of these museums are taken up by the Government from time to time. These museums are in good condition,” a government statement said. (ANI)

Related Posts

Leave a Reply