Gurgaon gets new district council chief

Gurgaon, March 16 (IANS) Kalyan Singh and Sanjeev Kumar were here on Wednesday declared elected chairman and vice chairman, respectively, of the Gurgaon Zila Parishad (district council) following the January 10 polls held to elect members for a five-year term.

It was a close fight between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-supported candidates themselves, an official said.

The fight for chairman’s post was between Kalyan Singh Chauhan and Virender Singh Yadav, representing ward 6 and 4, respectively. In the 15-member Gurgaon Zila Parishad, Chauhan managed to win by one vote, bagging 8 votes.

“Majority of members (7) comes from Yadav community and it was believed that Virender Singh would manage to get the post of chief but BJP district president Bhupinder Singh Chauhan’s cousin Kalyan Singh did it,” a senior party leader told IANS.

Both candidates claimed being supported by BJP Gurgaon’s Member Parliament and Minister of State Rao Inderjit Singh.

Similarly, Sanjeev Kumar from ward 12, defeated Minakshi, representing ward 3.

Kumar won by one vote as Minakshi got support of seven members.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply