Hockey stars to compete at Obedullah Khan Heritage Cup in Bhopal

Views: 13

Bhopal, Sep 9 (IANS) Rio hockey Olympians V.R. Raghunath, S.V. Sunil, Manpreet Singh and Kothajit Singh will compete for different teams in the Obedullah Khan Heritage Cup from September 14, with the Madhya Pradesh government on Friday announcing a bonanza of Rs 51 lakh for the winners here.

The tournament is viewed as one of most prestigious domestic events in India with the participation of 12 top teams in the country such as Air India, BPCL, ONGC, Indian Oil Corporation (IOC), Indian Railways, Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy, Association of India Universities, Punbaj Sindh Bank, Punjab National Bank, Central Secretariat Sports Control Board (CSSCB), Food Corporation of India (FCI) and Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) who will vie for top honours.

Apart from the above mentioned stars, national team members Devinder Walmiki, Nikkin Thimmaiah, S.K. Uthappa, Ramandeep Singh and Indian team assistant coach Tushar Khandker will also play in the championship.

The winners will receive Rs 51 lakh, while the runners-up will receive Rs 21 lakh. The third placed team will be awarded Rs 11 lakh and the fourth placed team will walk away with Rs 5 lakh.

“The Obedullah Khan Heritage Cup is one of the most prestigious tournaments in the country which the players are looking forward to participating in. Such large format tournaments with such an attractive prize money held on the domestic level does a lot for building the popularity of the sport in India,” said Md Mushtaque Ahmad, Secretary General, Hockey India.

“We are very pleased with this initiative of the Madhya Pradesh Government and look forward to a successful tournament.”

Apart from the cash awards for team winners, the organisers will also give away Rs 5,000 each to the Player of the Match. The first match is scheduled to be held between IOC and ONGC on September 14, while the final will be held on September 21.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *