ICC Cricket for Good, UNICEF launch `Team Swachh clinics` with BCCI

Views: 14

New Delhi, Feb18 (ANI): The International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricket for Good and the UNICEF have launched the Team Swachh clinics along with the BCCI during the ICC World T20 Host City Tour, which aims at building a social movement for sanitation and toilet use there by leading to an open-defecation-free India.

Earlier, ICC has reaffirmed its commitment to the spirit of cricket and bringing about positive social change through the sport by launching Cricket for Good and Team Swachh campaign in partnership with UNICEF and the BCCI.

The ICC WT20 Men’s and Women’s trophies travelled on the Nissan Trophy Tour float through the streets of national capital New Delhi. Exhilarated fans got the opportunity to photograph themselves with the ICC WT20 Trophies.

ALSO READ:   Ex-Brazil keeper Julio Cesar bids winning farewell

A specially designed double-decker bus carried the children from a local NGOs and Indian cricket team players. Yuvraj Singh and Pawan Negi, the Indian cricket players interacted with fans as the cavalcade made its way to photograph themselves with the ICC Trophies.

Playing cricket-based games with the children along with advocating the use of toilets, Yuvraj and Negi engaged with the children when sharing cricketing tips and discussing the importance of hygiene and sanitation in the specially designed Team Swachh WASH clinic set up inside the Feroze Shah Kotla Cricket stadium.

Calling the initiative a ‘social movement for sanitation’, Caroline Den Dulk, Chief of Communication, UNICEF India said, “The idea of team and team play is at the core of the Team Swachh initiative and it leverages the vast passion of the sport in the country to advocate toilet use and save lives of children.”

ALSO READ:   Chelsea salvage season with 1-0 victory over Man United in FA Cup final

After Dharamshala, Mohali and Delhi, the ICC WT20 Host City Tour will visit each of the venues that will host the ICC WT20 matches. It now travels to Kolkata (February 24) followed by Nagpur (February 27), Chennai (March 1), Bangalore (March 3) and Mumbai (March 6).(ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *