IIT Kharagpur presents excellence award to ISRO scientist

Views: 142

Kolkata, Aug 18 (IANS) The Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, on Thursday presented the Nina Saxena Excellence in Technology award to ISRO scientist M. Jeen Britto.

The award was handed out to Britto for his exemplary innovation in the field of Cryogenics Instrumentation and Automation during the premier institute’s 66th foundation day celebration.

Distinguished professor and Director of Graduate Studies at Duke University, Krishnendu Chakrabarty, was presented the Distinguished Alumnus Award for 2014.

It was on this day in 1951 that the foundation stone of the IIT was laid in a nondescript backyard of a railway colony in the then small town called Kharagpur, carving its name on the academic map of the world.

“With the history of a political detention camp where freedom fighters, of the age of first year IIT students, gave their lives, the IIT system has become one of the finest brands that independent India offered to the world”, said IIT Kharagpur Sirector R.P.P. Chakrabarty.

The Institute announced a life-long email service for its 55,000-plus alumni community.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *