Imtiwapang Aier elected Speaker of Nagaland assembly

Views: 42

Kohima, March 21 (IANS) Naga People’s Front (NPF) legislator Imtiwapang Aier was on Tuesday unanimously elected Speaker of the 60-member Nagaland assembly.

Health and Family Welfare Minister P. Longon and Roads and Bridges Minister Y. Vikheho Swu proposed Aier’s name, which was seconded by Chotisuh Sazo, holding charge of the Public Health Engineering Department.

Deputy Speaker Imtikumzuk announced Aier’s election as the new Speaker since there was no other contender.

The Speaker’s election was necessitated after Sazo became a Cabinet Minister in the newly formed government headed by Shurhozelie Liezietsu.

Liezietsu was sworn in as Chief Minister on February 22 after T.R. Zeliang resigned after tribal groups opposed his move to hold civic polls with 33 per cent reservation for women.

ALSO READ:   Mehbooba welcomes India, Pakistan commitment to border peace

A recipient of the Young Scientist-IBC Award for 2011 at Cambridge University, London, Aier was first elected to the assembly in 2013 on a Congress ticket from Impur constituency.

However, he along with seven Congress legislators joined the ruling NPF to support the Zeliang government. He was appointed Parliamentary Secretary in charge of Geology and Mining.

Liezietsu exuded confidence that Aier will maintain the dignity and decorum of the office he has been elected to.

In his acceptance speech, Aier called on the members to work with zeal and assured he will spare no efforts to uphold the cherished traditions and non-partisan character of the Speaker’s post.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *