India thump Australia by seven wickets to claim series sweep

Views: 24

Sydney, Jan. 31 (ANI): India have claimed a 3-0 series whitewash after defeating hosts Australia by seven wickets in the pulsating third and final Twenty20 international at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday.

Chasing a daunting 198-run target, India relied on Rohit Sharma (52), Virat Kohli (50) and Suresh Raina (49 not out) to secure a thrilling last-ball victory. With the series win, India also replaced West Indies as the new number one side in the T20 rankings.

India got off to a thunderous start, with opener Shikhar Dhawan providing initial thrust by smacking a quick-fire 26 off just nine balls.

Yuvraj Singh (15 not out), who was batting for the first time in the series, provided able support to Raina as the duo took 19 off Andrew Tye’s final over of the innings to finish off the win.

ALSO READ:   Bayern win, Hamburg lose in Bundesliga

Earlier, Australia made 197-5 in their stipulated 20 overs, thanks to stand-in captain Shane Watson, who was adjudged the Player of the Match for his inspiring 124-run knock off mere 71 deliveries.

Indian bowlers, who produced impressive performance during the first two games, underperformed in the final dead rubber.

Meanwhile, Kohli was declared as the Player of the Series for accumulating staggering 199 runs in his three innings in the series. (ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *