Indus Community Services hosts annual volunteer recognition event

Views: 223

Indus Community Services’ (Indus) held their Annual Volunteer Recognition event and 33rd Annual General Meeting at a well-attended function in Mississauga. The Board of Directors were joined by Volunteers, Indus Members, Funders, Partners and Staff.

Gurpreet Malhotra, CEO, Indus welcomed the gathering and thanked the volunteers for their years of dedicated and selfless service and for making a difference in the lives of so many members of the many communities we serve. Volunteers were presented with a commemorative certificate and a small token of appreciation.

Students from the Milton District School Board entertained the crowd with a lively dance and a song performance. The students were part of the Halton Youth for Equity and Student Voice Program who speak up against bias based on racial, cultural, religious and gender identity and sexual orientation.

Indus recognized its networking partners and funders for their ongoing support and commitment to our communities and clients.

Jeff Payne, Vice-Chair of the Central West LHIN Board of Directors and Patrick Hop Hing, Mississauga Halton LHIN Board of Director, presented greetings and highlighted the new partnership between Trillium Health Partners, Yee-Hong Centre Geriatric Care, and Indus for the building of a new 320 bed long-term care home.

Later during the evening, the slate for the new Board was presented and approved. The four newly elected Board Members are – Richa Arora, Sonia Dupte, Amit Goyal and Sreya Roy.
Chair of the Board – Mandeep Grewal said, “The work we do together helps to build resilient individuals, stronger families and welcoming communities. My family and I would have benefitted from these programs when I was younger.”

In closing, Mandeep Grewal thanked outgoing Board members Randeep Chana, Gurwinder Gill, Jatinder Singh and Nazli Rehman for their excellent volunteer service and dedication to Indus. -CINEWS

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *