IPL: Gujarat opt to bowl against Punjab

Views: 31

Rajkot, May 1 (IANS) Gujarat Lions captain Suresh Raina won the toss and elected to bowl against Kings XI Punjab in an Indian Premier League (IPL) contest here on Sunday.

While table-toppers Gujarat are playing with an unchanged team, bottom-placed Punjab have made as many as four changes. New captain Murali Vijay replaced opening batsman Manan Vohra with Gurkeerat Singh while giving spinner K.C. Cariappa his first match.

Also, Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis came in place of pacer Mitchell Johnson, while wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha returned to the side.

The teams:

Gujarat: Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Suresh Raina (captain), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishan Kishan, James Faulkner, Praveen Kumar, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shivil Kaushik.

Punjab: Murali Vijay (captain), Shaun Marsh, David Miller, Glenn Maxwell, Gurkeerat Singh, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Axar Patel, Marcus Stoinis, K.C. Cariappa, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Sharma.

ALSO READ:   Need to work on defence ahead of World Cup, says South Korea coach



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *