ISL fines FC Goa, suspends owners for final fracas

Views: 11

Mumbai, May 5 (IANS) The regulatory commission of the Indian Super League (ISL) on Thursday imposed heavy penalties on FC Goa for breach of discipline during the final of the 2015 edition of the lucrative football tournament.

The five-member commission fined FC Goa Rs.11 crore and banned the franchisee’s co-owners Dattaraj Salgaocar for three years and Srinivas Dempo for two years on disciplinary grounds. The duo will not be allowed to indulge in any activity pertaining to ISL matches including entering stadiums, during the period of their respective bans.

The FC Goa team shall also be docked 15 points in the next ISL season.

Last year’s ISL final witnessed a lot of controversy after players and officials of FC Goa and eventual champions Chennaiyin FC engaged in a physical confrontation after the match.

FC Goa had alleged that Chennaiyin FC’s Brazilian playmaker Elano Blumer had assaulted Salgaocar. Elano was arrested and booked by Goa Police following the post-match fracas.

Of the Rs.11 crore fine, Rs.10 crore shall be paid by FC Goa to the Reliance owned Football Sport Development Limited (FSDL) towards penalty as well as costs while Rs.1 crore shall be given to Chennaiyin FC.

The regulatory commission met here over the last three days, in continuation of their earlier sittings since February to hear the submissions of the respective parties in the matter of FSDL vs FC Goa, FC Goa vs Chennaiyin FC, FC Goa vs Elano Blumer and Chennaiyin FC vs FC Goa.

In its final order, FC Goa were found in breach of ISL regulations and code of conduct bringing disrepute to the ISL, following the incident on December 20 soon after the ISL final at Fatorda Stadium in Goa.

FC Goa were facing the allegations of violating ISL regulations including boycotting the match and league ceremony, public criticism and threatening match officials, alleging that the match was fixed, and non-adherence of ISL rules.



Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *