JNU row: Umar, Anirban ‘cooperating’ with Delhi Police in interrogation

Views: 48

New Delhi, Feb. 24 (ANI): The Delhi Police interrogated Jawaharlal Nehru University students Umar Khalid and Anirban Bhattacharya, who have been booked on charges of sedition, in the wee hours on Wednesday and asked them about the sequence of events that took place on February 9.

In an interrogation that lasted for almost five hours, the police asked the two about their whereabouts during the incident and also on their alleged raising anti-national sloganeering.

The police also asked Umar about his call detail records.

Both Umar and Anirban revealed to the police about their location when they were absconding and also assisted the police in the interrogation.

The Delhi Police have made a plan based on which the two would be presented before the Magistrate, ensuring their safety.

ALSO READ:   Congress backs JD-S on Karnataka government formation

Umar Khalid and Anirban Bhattacharya, who have been booked on charges of sedition, surrendered before the Delhi Police late last night following which they were questioned for at least five hours.

Earlier during the day, the Delhi High Court had refused to grant them protection from arrest and told them that they will have to surrender and face the law.

The two have been placed under police custody at South Campus police station.

A medical check was conducted on both the students in the police station and they were questioned for around five hours.

The duo returned to the JNU campus last Sunday after remaining underground since February 12.

Khalid and Bhattacharya are among the five students who, along with JNUSU President Kanhaiya Kumar, had allegedly shouted anti-national slogans at an event organized in the university campus on February 9.

ALSO READ:   New treatment facility for hazardous industrial waste in Delhi

Besides Kumar, Khalid and Bhattacharya, the other students are Rama Naga, Ashutosh Kumar and Anant Prakash. Delhi Police had issued a look-out notice on February 20 against Khalid, Bhattacharya, Naga, Ashutosh and Prakash. (ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *