Kalikho Pul government wins floor test in Arunachal assembly (Update)

Views: 26

Itanagar/New Delhi, Feb.25 (ANI): The Arunachal Pradesh government led by Chief Minister Kalikho Pul today won the floor test in the state assembly, with Pul securing the the support of 40 MLAs in the house having an effective strength of 58.

On Wednesday, eight Nabam Tuki loyalists extended their support to Pul.

Pul was sworn in as the eighth chief minister of the state on February 19 after over three months of political instability.

The eight are former ministers Takam Pario, Gojen Gadi, Jomde Kena and Thirong Aboh and former Parliamentary Secretaries Punji Mara, Jambey Tashi, Gum Tayeng and Tapak Taku. Parliamentary secretary Likha Saaya had also joined the Pul camp On February 20.

Thursday’s floor test win came a day after Congress General Secretary in charge of North Eastern States, V. Narayanasamy, had in a letter sent to each Congress MLA in Arunachal Pradesh, directed and emphatically informed them not to attend the “illegally called meeting” by Kalikho Pul, failing which, consequences will follow.

ALSO READ:   Google to make Machine Learning education available for all

The letter of February 24, which has appeared on the All India Congress Committee (AICC) website www.aicc.org.in. read as follows:


Arunachal Pradesh

Dear MLA,

“You are aware that two important cases pertaining to the Pre-poning of the Sixth Assembly Session by the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh and the disqualification of 14 MLAs are sub judice and pending before the Hon’ble Supreme Court and Guwahati High Court respectively.

The Governor’s Orders have been challenged by Shri Nabam Rebia , Hon’ble Speaker vide SLP (c) 1259-60 in Supreme Court and the Judgement has already been reserved and likely to be delivered soon. This matter has serious constitutional ramifications and will set a precedent in the constitutional history of India. In the Guwahati High Court, the Disqualification matter vide W.P -9/2016 will also be disposed within the next ten days.

ALSO READ:   Speciality Restaurants to invest Rs 40 cr, to open 8-12 new outlets

The Centre upon the recommendation of the Governor revoked the President’s Rule and installed a Government in Arunachal Pradesh in an unconstitutional and illegal manner, with total disregard for the Judiciary of the land. Shri Kalikho Pul, a dissident MLA who is himself under disqualification was sworn in as Chief Minister on 19th February, 2015 overriding all conventions of appointing a new Government.

In the meanwhile, it is learnt that Shri Kalikho Pul has called a CLP Meeting at 5 p.m. on 24.02.2016 in CM’s Conference Hall, Itanagar. Shri Pul was not elected leader of the Congress Legislature Party and also not recognized by the Party leadership. He has no authority whatsoever, under the rules of the Congress Party to convene the CLP Meeting.

Therefore, you are hereby directed and emphatically informed them not to attend the “illegally called meeting” by Kalikho Pul, failing which, consequences will follow.”

As per existing norms and guidelines, only the president of a political party can issue a whip or issue an instruction in this regard to a Chief Whip of the state unit.

ALSO READ:   Gave corruption-free government, will do 'sabka vikas': Shah

A whip is the instruction issued by a political party to vote according to the party line in a legislature. Violation of it can lead to expulsion under the Anti Defection Act. There are three types of whips that can be issued:-

.A one-line whip is non-binding, and merely serves to inform the members of the vote.

.A two-line whip seeks attendance in the legislature during the vote.

.A three-line whip is a clear-cut directive, to be present in the legislature during the vote and cast vote according to the party line. Violation of the whip could lead to the member’s expulsion from the House.

In India, under the anti-defection law, a three-line whip can be violated only by more than one-third of a party’s strength in the legislature. (ANI)

Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *